MOM6 crashes after initialization

I have been running mom6-panan-005 fine for 3 months now without a problem submitting each months individually. Yesterday, I submitted another 3 months with payu run -n 3. The first month (i.e April 1991) ran fine, but then MOM6 crashed in the second month right after initialization:

Exiting coupler_init at 20230209 135016.510

*** longjmp causes uninitialized stack frame ***: /scratch/e14/cs6673/mom6/work/panan_005deg_jra55_ryf/symmetric_FMS2-e7d09b7 terminated

This error is in the first 20,000 lines of mom6.err

My directory is here /home/142/cs6673/payu/panan_005deg_jra55_ryf

That’s a new one to me! Just to get the dumb questions out of the way, was your job terminated by PBS for running out of walltime/memory? The PBS outputs mom6_panan-005.{e,o}* are only readable by you by default.

Yes, it has indeed exceeded it’s walltime which I set to 3:30. Normally it takes about 3 hours for 1 months. It shouldn’t take 3.5 hours to initialize though or whatever it’s trying to do

I seem to recall payu taking quite a while to generate the manifests for the restart files, which you wouldn’t have seen on the first segment. Not sure what right advice is here, maybe @aekiss would have a suggestion from experience with ACCESS-OM2-01?

Did you try to resubmit and did you get the same error? Often there’s little glitches on the NCI side that resolve themselves if you just try again.

Not yet, but can do it now

Yes, try running it again. Hopefully this is a transient NCI glitch.

I haven’t seen longjmp causes uninitialized stack frame since 2018 in a test version of ACCESS-OM2-01 on Raijin…

I guess I was suggesting that it’s only a weird error because the model was killed due to running out of walltime (which was indeed the case). I suspect the root of that is because running a restart is taking longer than the original cold-start segment, which could be a few things:

• slow restart input/initialisation?