Forecasting and Prediction working group: Introduce yourself

This topic is where you can introduce yourself to the other members of the Forecasting and Prediction Working Group.

Feel free to put as much information as you like, but it might be good to have a brief introduction to your background, where you are now, specific areas of interest you might have, and what collaborations you are interested in in the future.

2 Likes

Hi all, I’m Bethan. I’m a model developer at the Bureau of Meteorology, where I am currently thinking about ways to parameterize the unresolved effects of sub-grid clouds and convection on rainfall and circulation in global models. I came to the Bureau not too long ago from an academic background, where I made extensive use of high resolution (km and sub-km grid lengths) regional and idealised modelling, as well as observations of rainfall, to investigate aspects of deep convection, convective microphysics, and extreme rain events.

2 Likes

Hi! I’m also a co-chair of the #forecasting-and-prediction working group.

I am in the tail end of my PhD at University of Melbourne on data assimilation methods with Craig Bishop, mainly developing ensemble tangent linear model techniques.

Previously worked at the Bureau on the BARRA regional reanalysis project, running cycling assimilation and forecast suites with atmosphere UM (global and regional), SURF, VAR and OPS. Verification & model/assimilation validation too

1 Like