Machine Learning for Climate and Weather Working Group: Introduce Yourself

This topic is where you can introduce yourself to the other members of the Machine Learning for Climate and Weather Working Group.

Feel free to put as much information as you like, but it might be good to have a brief introduction to your background, where you are now, specific areas of interest you might have, and on what you are interested in collaborating in the future.

3 Likes

Hi everyone, I am one of the co-chairs of this group. I am a research scientist at the Bureau working in seasonal and marine forecasting and applications. My background is in physical oceanography and ocean modelling. I haven’t done much work with machine learning techniques yet, but I have been following the recent literature on ML-based weather and seasonal forecasting closely. I am particularly interested in ML-based ocean forecasting applications and coastal downscaling methods.

I am looking forward to interacting with everyone and building this community!

3 Likes

Hi. I am not sure if I am a card carrying member of this working group but I am interested. I am an Associate Professor in the School of Maths and Stats at UNSW. My research is predominantly in the oceans role in climate. I have a strong methods focus to my work which dabbles in dynamics, thermodynamics, state estimate/inverse modelling, and machine learning. I like using different data sources from small scale in situ obs to large scale model ensembles. I developed a graduate level course in Environmental Data Science at UNSW which got me more interested in the stats ML world. I am keen to do more and also connect our talented maths/stats focused students to weather and climate problems.

2 Likes